Coconut Oil Body Scrub

I usually treat myself to do-it-yourself home body treatments all year round, but the winters here in New Mexico wreak havoc on my skin. It can be incredibly expensive to go to a spa and it can sometimes be difficult to find one that uses eco-friendly products.
 On a side note, if you have a sauna in your area, I highly recommend it. I got a free visit last week to a local one and I felt really energized and cleaned out. Plus, the dry air felt really good on my lungs after having pneumonia.

Anyways, back to these wonder DIY beauty treatments. I’m a huge fan of coconut in general, but coconut oil is my absolute favorite. I use it for high-heat cooking as well as in my morning routine. It’s extremely versatile.

When my hair is getting dry I make a coconut oil hair mask, but many people find it to be too heavy. It’s quite rich and moisturizing, so I personally found that its best use is in my skin routine. I use it in my homemade exfoliating scrub, which is crazy easy:

  • ½ cup coconut oil (I use extra-virgin and organic)
  • 1 cup brown sugar (I buy fair trade, when possible)
  • A few drops of essential oil, optional

It’s very important that you use a 1:2 ratio for mixing – otherwise the oil will overpower the sugar and you’ll be left with a goopy mess instead of an exfoliating paste. Just mix the ingredients together and voila, at home exfoliation!

I have to admit that it isn’t the sexist looking body scrub, but it’s minimal and made with edible ingredients. The nice thing about this scrub is that it’s customizable. You could buy unscented oil and use vanilla and orange or lemon and rosemary. I haven’t been that creative yet, so if you try something wacky, let me know how it works out!

I exfoliate my arms with this mixture every three to four days or so. The brown sugar is more abrasive than other means of exfoliation, so I keep it minimal, but it really sloughs off those dead skin cells that accumulate during the winter months. And the coconut oil does an excellent job of moisturizing and combating redness.

Coconut oil is solid at room temperature, which can make it hard to remix if it separates a bit. If you store it in the shower, the heat and humidity will soften it and make it easier to mix up. While it’s not gentle enough to be used for facial exfoliation, it works well on the legs too and leaves them really soft, especially if you use it before and after you shave. Enjoy!

Leave a comment