Going Soulo: Simplify Your War Paint

This post is a bit shorter than my other travel posts, and for good reason! When you travel, either a few states or a few oceans away, your makeup routine should be streamlined. It is a pain to drag around a make-up case filled with everything under the sun.And speaking of nature’s rays, your arsenal should definitely include products with natural SPF.

I will admit, my makeup routine is pretty minimal to begin with. Half the time I’m on the go, trying to make it to class, work, yoga, and all my other obligations. The rest of the time I just want to make cookies without painting my face; therefore, I make a point of using products that multi-task, which is already well suited for traveling needs.

My list is certainly not the list, because every woman has her own unique preferences and needs when it comes to cosmetics. Some women prefer heavier coverage and others lighter, so I’m going to give you a list of what I use when traveling and hopefully there is something you can take away from it for your next trip!

cruelty freeNote: no items I use are tested on animals. Because animal testing for cosmetics and toiletries is unnecessary (and products who do test have ingredients that you wouldn’t want on your skin anyways), I choose not to partake and I never will. Most of mine are vegan-friendly as well.

  • BB Cream: this is my go-to, because it does almost everything in one application. It smooths out uneven skin tone, moisturizes, covers, can provide natural sunscreen depending on the brand, and comes in a convenient little bottle complying with carry-on standards. I do have powder that I layer over the cream for special occasions, but for every day, BB cream is my BFF. I use Tarte because it’s not tested on animals and has a shade that matches my hard-to-find skin tone.
  • Mascara: mascara really wakes up your eyes. Rather than using mascara and eyeliner (which I personally find to be less than useful, especially because I wear glasses full time), use this trick: wiggle the mascara wand back and forth, just slightly, at the base of the eyelashes. It causes a more pronounced ‘line’ that mimics light eyeliner so you don’t take a ton of makeup with you.
  • Eye shadow: I only wear eye shadow on special occasions, but I bring it along just in case. I order from Alima and they send samples with every order, so I use that to my advantage and store my favorite shades in their cute little pots. Travel friendly + eco-friendly = a happy Allix!
  • Lip color: some women prefer lipstick to lipmakeup pot gloss or lip balm. I like lipstick for a night out because the color is usually really striking, but I stick to everyday hues most of the time. Right now I’m using tinted Burt’s Bees lip balm, which gives me moisture and color, so I don’t have to pack as much.
  • Blush: I use blush almost every single day, mostly because my pale skin doesn’t have much color on its own. My skin gets dried out easily because I currently live in Albuquerque, so I use cream blush. It’s easy to spread, with practice, and the smell of the color I use from Tarte is fruity, so it’s win-win!

There you have it. Really basic, really simple, and really easy to pack. Like I said, my list won’t work for everyone, but if there’s something you can take away from it, I consider my job done!

Leave a Reply

